The McKnight’s Excellence in Technology Awards have been honoring innovative uses of technology in senior housing and care since 2012.

Back then, the brand known as McKnight’s Assisted Living (now McKnight’s Senior Living) consisted primarily of a six-times-a-year print magazine, so efforts related to the awards were more evident with sister brand McKnight’s Long-Term Care News.

Since then, McKnight’s Senior Living has expanded to include its own website, Daily Briefing e-newsletter and social media. With the ever-increasing use of technology in independent living, assisted living and memory care settings, this year was a good time to expand the Excellence in Technology Awards.

The 2018 competition doubles the total number of categories and splits them into two separate tracks, senior living and skilled care (the latter aligning with readers of McKnight’s Long-Term Care News).

Senior living categories include:

  • Activities;
  • Dignity;
  • High-Tech/High-Touch;
  • Innovator of the Year;
  • KISS (simple projects);
  • Marketing;
  • Quality;
  • Safety;
  • Training; and
  • Transitions.

If your community is using tech tools to improve care and operations, then get recognized for your hard work by entering this year’s McKnight’s Excellence in Technology Awards! The deadline is this Friday, July 20.

Entering is easy. Just visit and follow a few prompts. For more information about the awards, visit; that web page has a link to the entry system, too.

Entries will be judged by an external panel of experts. Winners will be announced in the fall and recognized online and in print.

Lois A. Bowers is senior editor of McKnight’s Senior Living. Follow her on Twitter at @Lois_Bowers. Email her at [email protected].