The Biden administration is awarding $103 million in American Rescue Plan funds to 45 grantees to help reduce healthcare worker burnout and staffing shortages, the Department of Health and Human Services announced Friday. The awards will fund evidence-informed programs, practices and training, with a specific focus on providers in underserved and rural communities, HHS statement.

Fully two-thirds of nurses are now considering leaving the profession, according to a survey published last month from staffing firm Cross Country Healthcare. 

“I have traveled to many health centers across the country and know that the COVID-19 pandemic has intensified issues that have long been a source of stress for frontline healthcare workers — from increased patient volumes to long working hours,” HHS Secretary Xavier Becerra said. 

“While the challenge is complex, these multi-year awards will support proven strategies for healthcare providers, academic institutions, and other recipients to reduce burnout and build resiliency,” according to the DHS statement.

The funds will be dispersed by the Health Resources and Services Administration under three separate programs to help improve the retention of healthcare workers.

The bulk of the funding, $68.2 million to 34 grantees, will be awarded through the Health and Public Safety Workforce Resiliency Training Program with the goal of helping to reduce burnout and promote resilience among various at-risk groups.

Through the Promoting Resilience and Mental Health Among Health Professional Workforce, HRSA is awarding $28.6 million to 10 grantees to help healthcare organizations establish, improve, or expand evidence-informed programs and practices to promote mental health and well-being among the health workforce, including their employees.

Finally, through the Health and Public Safety Workforce Resiliency Technical Assistance Center, HRSA is awarding $6 million to George Washington University to provide tailored training and technical assistance to the awardees announced Friday. 

Click here for a list of award recipients.