The four 2019 inductees into the Continuing Care Hall of Fame. From left: Joan Annett, James Emerson, Monsignor Charles Fahey and Herbert Shore, Ed.D.

More than 150 years of service to the senior living industry will be recognized when four new members are inducted into the Continuing Care Hall of Fame next month, according to event organizers.

The hall, created in 2015 by Alwyn V. Powell, founder of AV Powell & Associates LLC, honors individuals and organizations that have made “significant and innovative contributions” to the development of continuing care retirement communities (also known as life plan communities) and continuing care at home programs. The latest inductions will bring the number of honorees to 10.

The four inductees for 2019 are the late Joan M. Annett, MBA; James F. Emerson; Monsignor Charles J. Fahey; and the late Herbert H. Shore, Ed.D. They join the late Lloyd W. Lewis and Donald L. Moon, inaugural honorees inducted in 2015, and four people inducted in 2017: Maria Dwight (who passed away this year), the late Rev. Dr. Richard Ice, Rev. Dr. Laverne Joseph and the late Rev. Paul White.

Annett had a 24-year career as an investment banker, including service as managing director of Cain Brothers healthcare investment bank. During her career, she assisted with the development of the Continuing Care Accreditation Commission, which began in 1985 through the organization now known as LeadingAge and was acquired by CARF in 2003. Annett died in 2008.

Emerson was CEO of Westminster Communities of Florida for 28 years, during which time the organization grew from four to 20 communities. Westminster Communities of Florida ranked 36th on the 2010 American Seniors Housing Association’s 50 list of largest U.S. senior housing owners and 38th on that year’s ASHA list of the 50 largest managers. Emerson has been active on industry boards, committees and task forces and was a founding member of the CCAC. He received LeadingAge Florida’s Executive of the Year Award in 2011.

Fahey, who is the Marie Ward Doty Professor Emeritus at Fordham University, is being recognized for spending more than 50 years advocating for frail seniors, beginning with the development of Medicare and Medicaid, continuing during his years at Catholic Charities, and culminating with the founding of the Third Age Center at Fordham University.

Shore was a co-founder of the Center for Studies in Aging at the University of North Texas, where he taught in the applied gerontology master’s degree program. He also was a driving force behind two senior living and care organizations: the American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging, which was founded in 1961 and changed its name to LeadingAge 2010, and the North American Association of Jewish Homes and Housing for the Aging, which was founded in 1960 and later changed its name to the Association of Jewish Aging Services. Every year, LeadingAge bestows the Dr. Herbert Shore Outstanding Mentoring Award. He passed away in 2000.

The Oct. 27 induction ceremony will be an invitation-only event during the timeframe of the LeadingAge Annual Meeting & Expo in San Diego.

Related Articles