Pinnacle Awards logo
Pinnacle Awards logo

Thirty top industry veterans who have set new standards, driven change and inspired others have been named to the inaugural class of McKnight’s Pinnacle Award winners, organizers announced Monday.

Among the honorees are veteran operators, caregivers and affiliated professionals who have had long careers performing at the highest levels in senior living, skilled nursing and home care.

The McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards recognize industry veterans with at least 20 years of experience in their chosen field. The program is a joint effort of McKnight’s Senior Living and sister media brands McKnight’s Long-Term Care News and McKnight’s Home Care. A Career Achievement Award winner will be announced soon.

All winners will be honored at a March 7 awards ceremony and dinner in Chicago that is open to all friends, family, colleagues and other supporters. Coverage of the program subsequently will appear both online and in print.

“Each of these dedicated, successful veterans has spent many years showing the field — and those watching it — how great professionals get the job done,” McKnight’s Vice President and Editorial Director John O’Connor said. “For more than two decades, each has continued to perform at the top of their game, which is an inspiration to all. We are truly fortunate to walk and work among them.”

Honorees are recognized in six categories. Winners were chosen by an independent panel of senior living, skilled nursing and home care leaders who assessed nominees across four major criteria groupings.

Check the program website,, for more information about the McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards, including details about the awards celebration.

The 2023 McKnight’s Pinnacle Awards winners:

Agent of Change Award

  • Mary Leary, CEO, President, Mather
  • Carol Odnoha, Director of the Nurse-Family Partnership, VNS Health
  • Carl Tabor, President, Avamere
  • J. Benjamin “Ben” Unkle, CEO and President, Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay

Industry Ally Award

  • Vincent “Vince” Mor, PhD, Professor of Health Services, Policy & Practice/Florence Pirce Grant University Professor, Brown University School of Public Health
  • Mark Parkinson, CEO/President, American Health Care Association/National Center for Assisted Living
  • Robyn I. Stone, DrPH, MPA, Senior Vice President for Research, LeadingAge/Co-Director, LeadingAge LTSS Center @UMass Boston

Inspiration Award

  • Kristin Bolos, Director of Workforce Development, EmpRes Healthcare Management
  • Evangeline Powell, Vice President of Clinical Services, Rockwell Healthcare
  • Daniel Reingold, CEO/President, RiverSpring Living
  • Dana Ullom-Vucelich, Chief Human Resources Officer, Ohio Living

Setting the Standard Award

  • Jennifer Brullo, Senior Vice President of Patient Care Services, VNS Health
  • Carole Considine, Executive Director, Harvester Place Memory Care
  • Phil Cyr, Administrator, Caribou Rehab and Nursing Center
  • Rita Mabli, CEO/President, United Hebrew of New Rochelle
  • Betsy Mullen, Chief Operating Officer, Legacy Lifecare

Thought Leader Award

  • Chris Belford, CEO, Sinceri Senior Living
  • Michelle Cone, Senior Vice President of Training and Brand Programs, HomeWell Franchising
  • Laurence Gumina, CEO, Ohio Living
  • Lynne Katzmann, CEO/Founder, Juniper Communities

Unsung Hero Award

  • Katie Campbell, Director of Social Services, Majestic Care
  • Barry Carr, Chairman/Co-founder, Ignite Medical Resorts
  • Yvonne Eaddy, Vice President of Regional Patient Care Services, VNS Health
  • Gloria Lopez, Registered Nurse Manager, Sierra View Medical Center

Business Partner Award

  • Kristy Brown, Director of SNF Financial Services, Quality Healthcare Resources
  • John “Jack” Dwyer, Owner/Chairman of the Board, Capital Funding Group
  • Leah Klusch, Executive Director, Alliance Training Center
  • Angela Olea, Founder and Brand President, Assisted Living Locators
  • Denise Robertson, Chief Operating Officer, Northern Iowa Therapy
  • Scott Thurman, Head of Production/FHA Healthcare, Greystone & Co.